the context is stronger than the concept

01 February 2006 @ 22:03
my mood

My social experiment in Astronomy is going well. Another student came up to me after class asking for help. The latest theory is that I am less threatening than a professor. Interesting.


As for other work-related things, I'm about to write up a proposal to turn my latest project (the Great Computer Build) into credit hours. Because it's taking much more research than I anticipated, even for the prebuilds that are available out there. And if I'm looking up everything from processors to hard drives, and if it's going to be related to stuff I'll do out in the Real World, then I might as well get something out of it besides a paycheck.

With the influx of New Stuff and Annie-Fix-This crap, I'm just hoping that I'll have time to look at everything. I already have a folder filled with possible setups. Methinks this is going to take awhile.


This weekend is Sib's weekend at my friend's university. A friend that I do not see very often. I accepted the invitation but haven't decided if I'm going to cancel or not. I shouldn't -- I hardly ever see this friend and I know it means a lot to him.

It's more complex than that. And I'm not getting into it.


We're reading poetry in French lit. I'm really enjoying some of it -- my favorite so far has been Le Printemps, a personification of spring. The one that made me cringe was Je vis, je meurs. The (female) poet was being overdramatic about love. Complaining about it and praising it all the same. And then falling out and falling back in. Much more intense than I described.


Mom is getting on my nerves. I think it's a mom thing. Hurt one of her babies, make them cry, and you've been demonized in her eyes. It's a quick, often unfair, judgement. She's been like this for ages, and it's starting to annoy me. I'm not sure how to confront her about it.


I've run out of things to say. Have some lyrics from MC Solaar:

Mais le contexte est plus fort que le concept.
Son mec se jette dans les flammes et il se lave avec.

I'm off to read and go to bed.
--Annie

<< // >>