cheat sheet

19 November 2005 @ 02:18
my mood

Many of you are French or Portuguese challanged. This is your cheat sheet. This does NOT cover ever foreign word in my diay, and some on this list are not ever in my diary. It's just a guide to get you through!


abacaxi
pineapple
amorzinho
little love, affectionate term
anel do namorado
silver ring on the right hand that serious couples wear, usually match. partner's name and anniversary date are typically engraved on the inside.
at� mais (tarde)
until later
a bient�t
see you soon
beij�o
big kiss (think big sloppy kiss)
beijinho
little kiss (think little pecks on the cheek)
brasileiro, brasileira
Brazilian
boa, bom, bons
good
boa noite
goodnight
bom dia
good morning, good day
bonito, bonita
beautiful
cacha�a
Brazilian rum
churraso
Brazilian barbeque
churros
round pasteries pumped full with a filling
doce de leite
milk candy, lighter than caramel
gatinho
kitty or kitten
gaucho
Brazilian cowboy, or anyone who lives in the south of Brazil
goiba
guava
gostoso, gostosa
tasty... can refer to nonfood items...
gringo, gringa
funny speaking foreigner, originally. (seriously.) I use it to describe myself in the sense of "amoung us, but not of us." It can also be considered offensive but I don't use it that way.
ma�as do amor
candied apples
M�e
Mom
meu, minha
my
moreno
term to describe someone who is mixed race, brown skin
muito
many
oi
hi
n�?
isn't it?
namorada
girlfriend
namorado
boyfriend
nora
daughter-in-law, referring to myself
Pai
Dad
sogra
mother-in-law, term for my boyfriend's mother, referring to M�e
sogro
father-in-law, term for my boyfriend's father, referring to Pai
sonho
dream
tchau
bye
querido, querida
dear

<< // >>