France!

16 January 2006 @ 16:43
my mood

I think I may have found a way to stay in France for a full academic year.

The unit recruiter came to visit us over the weekend, so a bunch of us bombarded him with questions about our benefits. One of the big discoveries was the student loan repayment program. For it to work, I would have to have loans out at the time of my reenlistment or contract extension. The hitch is that I can use it only once.

So. I can go inactive for a year. Take out a few loans to pay for the program and cover some living expenses. Go to Paris. Study. Become fluent.

The only problem is that I'm not ready to go next fall. I actually want to take courses at La Sorbonne and not just at the language school, so I need to be at an advanced level. And another year would put me at that level... and save up more money.

I really want to do this.
--Annie

<< // >>