flying! the moon! but not flying to the moon.

11 January 2006 @ 23:40
my mood

Bossman is taking me flying tomorrow, and I'm very excited about it. It's been years since I've been in a small plane, and flying in a jet just doesn't compare. In a small plane, you can see so much more than you do in a jet. Plus you get to know the inner workings and see the checklist being performed. Unlike a jet, where it's simply get in, sit down, shut up, what would you like to drink? Nope, none of that!

We didn't really decide on where we would be flying, and I'm sure he's already filed the flight plan, so, I'll let you know. And yes, I'm taking my camera.

Bossman also taught me about the phases of the moon today, which is actually a kind of difficult concept to grasp once you get into the technicalities of it. I had the dumb earlier today, so my brain wouldn't function.

Thankfully we were able to bring it up on SciDome so I could visualize it a little bit.

The moon is tricky. Don't let it fool you.

Also, did you know that our moon is the only moon in our solar system that doesn't have a name? And astronomers basically refuse to name it? I always thought that was interesting.

Anyways, sleep.
--Annie

<< // >>