graduation

25 September 2004 @ 10:59
my mood

A year ago today I graduated basic training.

I left my sleeping bay after saying goodbye and telling my baymates that I would miss them. I was glad to be leaving -- I couldn't tolerate some of them. I miss my Battle, though.

I waited for the Drill Sargeants to give me clearance to leave their unit and be moved "down the road".

I ate lunch by myself in the chow hall, my parents and a DS arriving later to explain where I was moving to and who I was reporting to.

Mom and I rode with DS Thomas in the cab of the big truck down to the band hall. Dad followed on the motorcycle. A platoonmate of mine sat in the bed with our gear. He didn't graduate.

I was so excited to finally be with the band. To wear civilian clothes. To wear my glasses. To leave post. To have weekends and evenings to myself. I was excited that there was someone in the band that I knew.

I remember telling my mom that I would see her in a month after they dropped me off at the barracks.

I remember feeling so very alone, and for a change, liking it.
--Annie

<< // >>