Brazil?

02 September 2004 @ 00:24
my mood

I called Andre today. That's always a bit scary. English is his second language and everyone else in his family speaks Portuguese. Try calling a foreign country where you're the one in the language minority.

We talked for over an hour. I hardly ever talk to anyone for that long on the phone.

One of the things that came up was how I wanted to visit Brazil and how I want to study in Hong Kong. I'm worried that I can do one or the other, but not both.

Really, I have enough available credit that I could buy a ticket to Brazil and pay for my visa and passport. It would probably take forever to pay off my credit card again after doing this, but I could do it. And I could still save money for Hong Kong by working another summer in the shop. By continuing to work at Staples, I could stash away plenty of spending money.

But then there's my ittsie bittsie logistical problem: I know another person in Brazil. She doesn't live anywhere near Andre.

I could split my time between them, but it would probably be better for me if I stayed only with Laryssa. I know her, I trust her, I've met her parents. I don't really know Andre or his parents and he's saying that it would be alright for me to stay at his house. I would share a room with his non-English-speaking older sister. The best idea would be for me to stay at a hotel, where an attendent may or may not speak English.

Yeah, I don't know what I should do. I'm trying to be responsible and think of all my bills...but...it would be nice to just go, wouldn't it?
--Annie

<< // >>