dad and horses

03 May 2004 @ 23:21
my mood

So, good news (finally). We went to see the doctor today and he said that Dad's knee is just sprained. A bad sprain, but still a sprain. There will be no surgery, no procedure that will make him take off more time than he absolutely has to. Dad goes back to work next Monday if and only if he's off the crutches. This means that I won't be needed to stay here with him all day so I feel that it's time that I seriously go job-hunting again.

All of this is making us spend time together and we're getting along wonderfully. Our relationship was one of the things that I spent much time meditating over while I was in training. It's nice to know that things work out for the best eventually.


I spent quite a few hours on the Goldwing website tonight and am going to spend more time on it tomorrow. It's almost to the point where I can put it aside and do only maintenance every few days. To not rush in with a ton of code once a week for the sake of trying to keep on top of updates would be a nice feeling. Then, eventually, I'll make the site actually look pretty.

Believe me, if I didn't have carpal tunnel or issues with the elbow there would be a lot more typing going on.


Going along with the Hardcore May theme, I went over to the barn although the neighbors weren't home. (What parent of school-age children isn't home at 3:00 pm?) I was able to muck two stalls, do a half-assed grooming job on two horses due to lack of proper tools, lead two horses out to pasture and then back inside, and feed all of them. They were excited about the food -- I don't think they really cared if they had clean stalls or not. The real accomplishment was leading the stallion in and out of the barn. The neighbors (and whomever has been working with the horses) are afraid of him and will let him run out of the stall only to be chased back in.

I was a little worried about feeding them -- they're not my horses, afterall -- but no one from next door called or came over afterward, so I'm guessing that it was alright. Even if it wasn't alright it still needed to be done.

And no, I didn't get kicked this time.
--Annie

<< // >>