here, then gone

11 April 2004 @ 20:58
my mood

On the ride back from the Easter Buffet at Quaker Stake and Lube, Dad asked if I knew an Eric Bable. Eric is a dedicated student, athlete (track and soccer), and trumpet player at my old high school. He was in my group of band friends. We -- the group of band friends -- ate lunch together every day of my senior year. The group (or subgroups) of us had gym together, ran track together, and hung out at soccer games together.

I told him yes, and asked why.

His dad, the one that had participated in band functions as a band parent/chaperone and had once driven me to a soccer game in the Akron area, had passed away. The obit said that he died at home after a short illness. Of course those things contain little closure.

I was left thinking "but damn, he looked just fine the last time I saw him..."

It's unsettling that someone I knew was here one day, then gone the next.
--Annie

<< // >>