Keith, Sophon and I

25 March 2004 @ 00:46
my mood

Mom confronted me about Keith tonight. It was not the reaction I was expecting. Instead of her calm question and repsonse I was ready to hear a lecture about how much older he is and how it was totally taboo. The only thing she was upset about was the fact that I didn't tell her.

He is 36 (which makes him 17 years older than than I am), divorced with no children, and just a bit strange. He is also a very good friend as well as my boyfriend.

Keith suggested that I tell her that in a month or so that there would be nothing to worry about. Early May is when he leaves for Cambodia to visit for two weeks and most likely -- no, I'm not going to lie to myself -- will return with a new wife. I didn't tell her about Sophon though. It gets complicated when she is added to the picture.

Besides, I really don't want to go all psycho and weird and a tad bit suicidal again like I did after Sophon called one night. She had horrible timing.

It's not like my parents are probably ever going to meet Keith anyways. They are going to Maine while my unit is doing Annual Training. The unit is also three hours away from where they live which makes participating in family things a bit difficult. He is trying to either get out of AT or transfer to the tiny (and horrible) Army Reserve Band. To them, he will remain the guy I go visit on the weekends.

Even with writting all of this I don't feel any better about any of it. Sophon and the Cambodia trips are my fault. I was a fool to get involved with someone who had made a prior commitment. And there is really nothing to do other than bite my tongue and ride it all out. I am the other woman and I really don't want to talk about it.
--Annie

<< // >>