lazy weekend

11 June 2006 @ 17:32
my mood

Last day of vegging out. Tomorrow starts the schoolwork extravaganza where I spend copious amounts of time in the library finishing up schoolwork. To be followed by hanging out in the language building, talking to my African French prof. I don't know if the other prof is back from France yet. Also, I'd like to finish up Zazie once and for all.


In other news, I decided that I don't want to come home for R&R leave. Uncle Sam will pay for round trip tickets for just about anywhere in the world. It's still a toss-up between Brazil and Japan. And yes, Shirley, if I go to Japan, I'm coming to visit you for a few days. Right now it looks like it's just myself and my brother going, Andre might be able to go but employment laws in Brazil are so screwy that we don't think he has vacation this year.

Apparently in Brazil you don't get vacation during your first year of employment. Not even unpaid time. But when they finally get around to giving it to you, you get a whole month off.

Yeah.


I sent postcards to Cousin 1, Cousin 2, Cousin 3, and Cousin 4 before I left my reclass school. When they got them, C1 read everyone's postcard aloud (he just learned how to read!) and C3 carried his around all night. They all thought it was the coolest thing ever.

They're going to get my address when I leave for real. I'm hoping I get cute kid letters and drawings.


My brother turned on TV5. So all day I watch TV in French. Most things aren't subtitled. Music videos are subtitled in French, some movies are subtitled in English. Apparently a few news programs have subtitles, but I haven't discovered those yet. Still, I am in love.


Not much else to say. (It tends to get depressing if I think about things too much.) Going to go back to my various research projects.
--Annie

<< // >>