effing computador

07 February 2006 @ 19:11
my mood

Dear computer corporations of the world:

Please stop dumbing down computers and forcing them to act and behave as if an idiot was operating them.

Please stop providing recovery disks that will undo everything I've done when all I wanted was a damn OS.

Please stop assuming that the world runs off of Windows XP, American English version. It definitely does not.

Please bring back fdisk. My life would be so much easier.

Please give end users the option of buying a computer without a preloaded harddrive.

'Brigada.


In other news, I spent the majority of my day mutilating a brand new laptop from a pristine Win XP setup to a rough dual boot Win 2000 and Fedora Core 4 setup. And we're not done yet. And it's not even my own computer. And I think it was the most frustrating thing I've done in awhile.

For some funny reason, I had always imagined turning one of my computers into a dual boot system before being paid to do it. But I won't complain.


I think I'm beginning to like Geology. Or maybe that's because lab today was only mineral identification and a trip to the mineral museum. We were done nearly an hour early. I felt like having a little party, but I spent a little more than a half hour at the rec center instead. It was a nice tradeoff. Finish class early, finish the workout early, eat lunch early, get to the workshop early. (Only to be tortured by the dual boot system setup.)


Bossman's computer is fixed -- again -- and I'm off towards home. Astronomy and French and the Middle Ages, oh my.
--Annie

<< // >>