life, condensed

05 February 2006 @ 16:07
my mood

I swear I saw a Brazilian on campus on Friday. Brazil jacket, he said tchau to a friend, and had the uber-European look of someone who's from Southern Brazil. I was on my way to French Lit, I didn't bother to investigate. But if he's in the Science building at that hour, he's probably in the Physics department. I'll figure it out eventually.


Friday night was spent at dinner followed by ice skating with my coworkers/friends. It's a nice change. Bossman had to run the show by himself, but that's okay.


I did end up going to visit my friend. He lives in Parkersburg, but goes to OU in Athens. Talk about two different worlds. Athens has small comfy organic-friendly cafes filled with students tip-tapping away at laptops. And the city is dominated by the university. Parkersburg is the city designed by an escaped mental patient with half streets and quarter streets and is mainly fast food joints and cafes that aren't cafes. Not to mention a past mayor that tried to get rid of the redlight district by destroying a bunch of buildings in the middle of the night without permission. Including city hall. Yeah, two different worlds.

I'm glad that I went. Out of the group he invited, I was the only one that bothered to show up. He's as introverted as I am and he lives alone, so he really appreciated the company.


It's snowing. I want to be at the beach.

Instead I have a pile of schoolbooks to read, an exam to study for, and French medieval poetry to read.

Tchau,
--Annie

<< // >>