mostly girly stuff that most people won't want to know about

21 January 2006 @ 23:13
my mood

Warning: this is about girly things that some of you have no wish to know. Go now or forever be scarred.


After weening my body off of birth control for the last three months, it has now staged a protest. My uterus is going through its once monthly escapism routine, my split personality is returning, and I just want to crawl under a rock and die. And the bloody part hasn't even started yet.

(See? I warned you that it was girly and gross. Well, girly stuff at least.)

In reponse, it's back to the pills. During which my body will make another painful three month transistion, but at least my uterus will learn its place in life.

I've also decided that I'm switching gynos. The one I go to is also the one that sees my mom and my grandmother. Both have had him do surgery on them. His waiting room is always always always filled with pregnant women and families with small children. Now me? I don't need surgery, I'm not pregnant, I'm not trying to get pregnant. I just need some pills and a pelvic exam. And apparently, to this doctor, this makes me an "easy patient".

No joke. I saw the man last June, waited over an hour past my appointment time, and he walked in the room alone, did the PAP smear, and said something about how it was the easiest thing he's done all day. There was no female nurse present. And he definitely didn't warn me that he was taking the sample. Also, he called me Stacy.... after I corrected him. I'm sorry, but if you're going to get that up close and personal with my junk, at least get my name right.

Effer.

Not to mention that when my insurance company called to see why I was on birth control, and the phone jockies tell them that it's for contraception. Wrong answer! The insurance won't cover it for that! (Yes, that's stupid, but I'm not getting into that right now.) Which has left me paying $40 a month and wishing that I had just gone to Planned Parenthood instead.

So, long story short: I'm going to try another gyno's office, where I'm not treated like another vagina with dollar signs stamped all over it. Because, quite frankly, that's what I feel like.

Maybe a WOMAN gyno will at least warn me when they're doing the PAP smear thing.
--Annie

<< // >>