stupid people

02 December 2005 @ 22:30
my mood

I went to work tonight to assist with the Hubble show. Before the Hubble show there was a star search/intro to the night sky presentation for a cub scout group. It's a free thing that we do for them to help them with their badges and such.

We have a medium-sized planetarium, so, I really don't think we fit more than 50-70 people. Most of them were children. Now, don't get me wrong. I really do like children -- I have no other choice, given the size of my family.

But these children? Awful. Well, the parents were worse. It was like a convention of the local Bad Moms And Dads.

We encourage participation in groups like this, and my boss loves questions. But once the lights go down, we expect a few things. Like no ringers on cell phones, no use of cell phones (light pollution), and stay in your seat. Anyone who has gone to a concert knows this stuff -- it's basic concert etiquette. I don't expect children to know this, but I do expect parents to use a situation like this to teach them that.

Anyways... there were kids moving all over the planetarium when the lights were down, parents entering and exiting with their kids which forced me to raise the lights, kids were running in and out after their friends... SO ANNOYING. My boss asked them to stop but that only caused more of them to do the entering-exiting thing.

And then, after the program, I just listened to the Bad Moms and Dads chatter away at their kids. One woman was holding onto a little boy and looked like she was going to exit the building. But no, she was only taking him to the door so she could show him how cold it was -- while yelling at him that he needed a coat and crap like that. Um, lady? He's a little boy and he doesn't know any better. Besides, you're going to be outside for how long? It's cold, but if you really don't feel like fighting him to put on a coat, just pick him up and take him to the car instead of arguing with him about it.

[/rant] I hadn't intended that to be long, but with a musical background that stuff just gets old.

It still amazes me how rude and thoughtless people can be.
--Annie

<< // >>