mostly about band

01 December 2005 @ 23:44
my mood

I was going to write about how my business presentation pulled itself together at the last minute. How I found my pant suit from high school (and how I realized that I've lost weight since then, since it doesn't fit me properly). How the idiot member of our group wanted to do a big chunk of the presentation when he had contributed nearly nothing. How said idiot acknowledged that he did nothing and was giving himself an F and the rest of us As. How hott we looked, all dressed up. How the presentation flowed smoothly and well. And how yummy the Lebanese food was and how it reminded me of Arabic food at Habib's in Brazil.

But I got an email this morning from my prof asking where the written business plan was. And then a phone call from a group member. And an email from the other active group member. Still, not a good sign.

Not going to obsess about it. The other two saw me hand it to him. Just one more week of presentations and I can take the final and be done with that class. I did enjoy it, surprisingly.


It's snowing. My car is already covered. I'm too lazy to get my parking pass out of my dad's car, so I'm half-hoping that school with be called off tomorrow. That and I don't want to be scolded by my French prof for using all the wrong verb tenses in the wrong places.

If I did that, I'm sure I bombed the last test. But I'm hoping that he was amused by sales gosses under the extra credit section. Ah, the things that Alex and Greg teach me.

How does Andr� do it, I wonder? Keeping most of his verbs in the right tense when he's telling me something. I only rarely catch him these days, and lately it's been with the use of the conditional form. (Who knew that French grammar would force me to relearn English grammar?) I'm still not sure how many other native English speakers would pick up on his errors and be able to correct him.

Because of him and his progress, many a person has suggested that I become an English teacher. I still have mixed feelings about teaching.

But speaking of teaching, there was a poster asking for volunteers to help middle schoolers with foreign languages, including French. I think I may call them up.

The last time I taught someone in that age group we were going over the circle of fourths learning all of the major scales. The other older members in the pit had no patience for the younger kids. The two boys did well. I pushed them hard that summer, but they did extremely well and were quite cheerful about it all. And they actually retained a good portion from session to session, too.

It's stuff like that which makes miss being in that kind of position.


One of my coworkers at the planetarium and I were in band together. Occassionally we talk about band and all of the people we knew. Her memory is better than mine, and we hold different ties with the band, so we each have different input. Which always makes for an interesting discussion.

We talked about how one of the infamous (or not-so-infamous, but I definitely remember him!) band dads. Apparently before when his daughter was a little girl he had skin cancer which led to a brain tumor. The doctors were able to remove it okay, and he was good for years and years and years. Then either this year or last, they found a tumor, right where the one before had been. Once again, it was removed okay but it took him days to even recover from the surgery. I couldn't imagine how that was for his daughter or his wife to go through... Just, wow.

I had also missed the get-together for Kisha's death a year ago, simply because my coworker didn't know how to get ahold of me until these past few months. Sad, really.

Then there's the usual talk of who's with who. Sometimes that's a real shocker. I had gotten so used to the long-standing band couples breaking it off that I was surprised to learn of a wedding. She was equally surprised to hear about two band members who weren't dating when they were in band but hooked up now. I thought that couple was slightly ironic because I had always seen them as complete opposites. I really do wonder who's still together and who's getting married and all of that nonsense. I was a member for six years, and I have no idea of what's going on with this group of people that I've come in contact with.

They don't know what's happened with me, either. I've ran into three (including my coworker) this semester alone that thought I just got up and joined the Army, never looking back. The funny thing is that this was the group of people that knew the most about my enlistment and it's terms. Occassionally I run into someone who asks me about Clayton. That doesn't hurt as much as it used to. Most aren't surprised about the computer major, but some are taken aback when I say that I'm studying French as well. I don't think that I've changed all that much, but maybe I have. Who knows.

Some think I'm a great person, some know my demons and weaknesses, and some think I'm the absolute devil. But, you'll have that anywhere.

Wow, that ended up being really long.

Anyways... I have an overprotective kitty curled up at my feet. Boa noite, world.
--Annie

<< // >>