turkey day

25 November 2005 @ 03:33
my mood

Happy Belated Turkey Day. I'm just now posting because I was in bed until 8 PM, sleeping.

Oh, sleep, I love you so.

Anyways, I managed to nearly successfully avoid Asshole and his girlfriend. Apparently he decided that he wanted some of his lights back that he didn't take when he moved out over a year ago. And apparently Mom thought that we should at least exchange hellos. While I'm in bed, mind you. Classy. In fact, that ranks up there with my godmother calling earlier this afternoon asking why I wasn't at dinner. Um, maybe because I'm sleeping in bed and I just happen to have a virus that the little kids don't have immunity to? Do you want me to give your babies chickenpox?

Oh, I forgot to tell you. I have shingles. And there's nothing that the dermatologist could do other than tell me to take painkillers or oatmeal baths. Huh, almost sounds like mono.

Anyways... so, yeah, Thanksgiving wasn't very eventful.

Usually we have the big meal with Mom's side of the family and have pie and coffee with dad's side of the family. It's always awkward for me, because I don't have many cousins that are close to my age. Well, I do, but they're either dead, married with kids, estranged, or live in Columbus. No one else is in college. No one else is in the same point in their lives as I am. Which means that very few of them can relate to me in the way that I would like. And since there is always a ton of babies, I'm the babysitter by default. Plus, my godparents and I don't really have a good relationship anymore -- and I struggle with this. My godmother has pretty much ignored me since she had her youngest two boys and the relationship between her and my mother (they're sisters) seems to be a little strained at times. My godfather? Since he's had his grandkids, he hasn't had time for me either. I can't remember a time when he has really taken an interest in me. Just seems like it defeats the whole purpose of that stuff.

It's not much better on my dad's side of the family, as far as age-wise stuff goes. I'm the oldest grandchild. So it's like, eldest child syndrome times ten.

Eh, it's not like it was all bad. One of my baby cousins said that she was thankful for me, amoung Barbie Dolls and popcorn. Her and her brother are still impressed from when I took them to see fireworks -- I can't even remember which summer that was, this or last. Andr� called and wanted to work on his English pronounciation, which of course resulted in a conversation that involved nearly anything and everything from relatives to jobs to immigration to which country is better to live in. His surgeries have been moving along quite wonderfully and he's feeling better already.

There's still stuff I'm thankful for, even if I slept the day away.
--Annie

<< // >>