wasted time

13 October 2004 @ 00:23
my mood

There was frost on the ground this morning. I'm not sure if I should be surprised or not.


I went to get my photo taken for my visitor visa today. What was supposed to be a half hour trip or even an hour took me two hours.

First, I went to AAA, thinking that I could get another set for free. Turns out the free set of passport photos is only in the county I grew up in and not in the county I currently live in. Okay, fine, I'll just buy a set of photos.

Their camera was broken. And it wouldn't be repaired until Thursday morning.

So the notary at AAA stamps all of my visa documentation (the Brazilian government loves stamps -- it makes them feel all warm and fuzzy) and suggested that I try Walgreens. After all, it was only down the street.

I get back in the car and head to Walgreens.

I walked up to the photo counter and ask how much passport photos are. The guy, whom I could barely understand or hear, informs me that his lense is broken. He has no idea when Kodak is going to ship him the replacement part.

At this point, I was ready to try anything. I had heard that Kinko's did passport photos, so I continued to fight traffic and drive down the road.

After waiting in line forever and listening to the employees discuss how long it would to do something that they didn't know how to do, someone was finally available to help me. I don't think they were amused when I asked if their camera was working and not broken.

$13.96 and 15 minutes later, I had the final required item for my visa.

And all I had to do was waste two hours of my life.
--Annie

<< // >>