sick on AT

02 July 2004 @ 19:05
my mood

I've been sick for the last couple of days and finally broke down and asked for medical care. It's nice being on Active Duty and having things like free medical care, especially at a civilian hospital rather than being tossed around at a military facility. Also, I'll eventually be reimbursed for the perscriptions that I had to pay for. I am very grateful that this is provided for me -- I won't have private health insurance until I'm back in school.

The doctor told me that I have both sinus and ear infections -- which I knew I had -- as well as bronchitis. Fun stuff, I tell you. So I was given a couple of scripts for drugs including one to have tonight and tomorrow off. It actually read "No Band 7/2/04 and 7/3/04" which I found highly amusing.

The annoying part isn't the infections, but rather how tired they make me. Last night it was very difficult for me to find the energy to do my setup detail, perform, and then my tear-down detail. Performing was probably the worst part. My fingers seem to know the music better than my head does so I was on auto-pilot for most of the concert. Auto-pilot is a bit scary. It's a very detached and surreal feeling. I'm grateful that my commander let me stay back at the hotel and rest.

The moral of the story: free health care is good, rest is better.
--Annie

<< // >>