geek speak and worrying

08 May 2004 @ 01:28
my mood

I have spent a good portion of this evening working on the computer. Not playing, not mindless surfing, not chatting, but working. My grandmother finds this hard to believe and actually corrected me when I said I was working:

Gram: "Don't you mean playing on the computer?"
Annie: "No Gram, I've been working on the computer tonight."

Then I had to try to explain to her that I was coding a website and researching code for said website. The woman has basic computer skills -- which is amazing for her age group -- but sometimes just doesn't understand what it is that I do.

The new layout -- XHTML, CSS, everything -- has to be ready for Darkwave Productions is two weeks. That's right, two. It took me well over a month to get the Chapter website to a point where I could leave it alone long enough to work on something else. Then again, DWP's website is going to be more design-oriented than content-oriented.

Oh, I'm sorry, did I lose you in the geek-speak? (Yeah, that happens. Get used to it.)

In other news, I'm escaping tomorrow. I was hoping to get it done today but the big storm this morning put a damper on running around. Tomorrow is probably not the best day to do it, with Mom going in to the hospital for another series of tests, but I'm not going to be gone overnight. She can drive now so they're not going to be stranded at the house, either.

As much as I bitch about being stuck here and having to help out, I really do worry.
--Annie

<< // >>