promoting

22 April 2004 @ 00:35
my mood

Tonight, I realized how much I know about promoting for bands. This is, I believe, uncommon information for a girl my age who grew up in the sticks. (I find it very unfortunate that the only person I can really talk to about it is Keith, and it's entirely his business.) It's probably even more uncommon when you consider that I want to be a geek when I grow up. The voice in the back of my head is protesting -- it's telling me that this is much more fun than looking at line after line of code.

At least with working with code there's some sort of purpose and organization. When looking over contracts for bands we're looking for ways to cut expenses. It's just not the same.

I've seen and heard about all sorts of things go wrong at shows that Keith has promoted. The worst that happens with code is that it won't compile or display correctly. I can fix bad code. I can't pull money out of my ass.

But, promoting is fun. It's nice to see a show come together. You do all of this work -- flyer clubs, distribute CDs, contact press, go over contracts, find a venue, and do a whole lot of hoping -- for one night. The music exposure is a nice fringe benefit. Industrial doesn't come off nearly as scary, death can actually be pulled off as an amusing theme, and the upright bass will always hold a special place in my heart when it comes to rock. Besides, who thought a hardcore metal band member would be a vegan?

I guess the attraction of it is that it's off the beaten path. And apparently that's what I'm all about.
--Annie

<< // >>