keep on running

06 February 2004 @ 23:30
my mood

There was a PT run in basic training during which I tripped and fell flat on my face onto the road with the type of thud one can only feel. The rest of the group broke formation around my sprawled body and kept on running.

I picked myself up off the road -- ignoring the blood -- growled out of mix of determination and anger and then sprinted up to and through the formation back to the front.

A week or two later, I moved into a different bay. My new battle buddy immediately started to talk about how I frightened her that one day. Fortenberry told me how determined and strong I seemed. She was afraid of a battle buddy like that.

(I miss her.)


If only I could do that here, in "real" life, with the employer situation. With everything.

If only everything were as easy as picking yourself up, ignoring the blood, and keep on running.

(Not to say it was easy then.)
--Annie

<< // >>