13 August 2005

14 August 2005 @ 19:28
my mood

13 August 2005

Mmm...Brazilian fair food! Or just Brazilian food in general. Yummy.

My favorite so far has been churros -- round pastries that are pumped full of different fillings, like chocolate or doce de leite. It's a big gooey yummy mess. There are a few different kinds of fruit dipped in chocolate, mainly apples, strawberries, and grapes. Grapes and apples are also candied -- the apples are the same as the candy apples at home, but the grapes are a new thing. I haven't tried them yet. Candy apples here are called ma�as do amor (apples of love), which is one of those cute things that I've been giggling about. Another new thing for me is Swiss Crepes. They will put whatever you want inside -- chicken, meat and cheese, a chocolate bar -- of this machine, along with crepe mix of course. A few minutes later you have yourself a yummy Swiss crepe. Andr� and I shared one that had meat, cheese and a little bit of oregano inside.

Arabic and Japanese food is also served at the fair at little sit down areas complete with waiters. I have developed a taste for Arabic food and it seems like the only place where I can get it is here. There are probably places in bigger cities back home to get it, but nowhere near Youngstown. Not to mention that if I went into one of those places someone would wonder. Here, there is even a chain of fast food restaurants called Habib's. Good food, yummy milkshakes.

And I just watched a commercial for Coke's Kuat (guarana) that basically showed that if you drink Kuat, you will get a piece of action. Two girls kissing a boy, a hot make-out session, rocking car, you know, the works. The boy and the girl who were sitting at the counter -- that just happened to order Kuat at the same time -- took a swig, turned towards each other and started kissing.

(Back to food.) I tried a candy/sweet spread made from goiba today. That's some good stuff. Most people eat it with cheese, but I was too stubborn to try. I have a jar of it at home anyways so I can always try it later.

US and Brazil played each other in basketball today. USA lost, of course. (Sorry, the news is on.)

And now...time to go out?? And eat more fair food?? I want a churro...

<< // >>