ID tags

07 April 2004 @ 12:59
my mood

I took the plastic silencers off of my ID tags last night. These days I hardly wear them anymore, even though my mother can often be found yelling "girl, you better have those tags on!" if I leave them sitting around the house for too long. She thinks I'm supposed to wear them all of the time. As if I'm going to spontaneously combust on the drive back to Akron.

For awhile I had kept my car keys on the chain so I wouldn't forget them. Even though during training I had kept the key to my personal drawer in my wall locker, a pair of sewing scissors, and a nail clipper on the chain I found that the set of keys just bothered me after awhile. It's interesting how these things change. Right now there are two plastic tags on the chain along with my ID tags. One is the old style green and yellow Army Values tag and the other is a AAA tag. You know, just in case I do something stupid like lock the keys inside of my running car. Or run out of gas because I was on a quest for cheaper prices. The dumb stuff that the parentals think I'm prone to do.

I want to buy a new chain since the current one makes the back of my neck black if I wear them too long. I'm not sure why. Medic buddy Mike had once said it was because they got wet. I had always found that scrubbing them had helped that. Who knows. It could be all of that Missouri dirt finally resurfacing.

Really, I have no idea why I'm obsessing over my tags. I'm supposed to get new ones that reflect my religion of preference. No longer will I be stamped "NO-REL-PREF". That's exciting. But what to do with the old tags?

Just because of how the Army is I'm sure I'll have to send the new ones back because my first name will be misspelled. Apparently nine letters in a time is three or four letters too long for them.

We'll see.
--Annie

<< // >>