we're not there

13 January 2007 @ 15:23
my mood

I'm listening to the printer painfully spit out one page at a time, as if each one will be the last.

My daily routine has developed to the point where I don't have time for myself. Which is good. And also bad. I don't have as much time to write, I don't have as much time to read, and I definitely don't call back to the States as often as I was. Which is good. And bad.

The good is that I'm going to the gym regularly. I spend so much time with two of my guy friends that I am now back into that comfortable "just one of the guys" camaraderie. We do the whole male bonding thing, which is quite an experience when you're not exactly male. (Good thing that living with my totally twisted parents prepared me for this.)

The bad is that I'm not keeping tabs with life back home. I miss the planetarium, Bossman, PhysicsGeek and all of the craziness that goes on in that place. Two of my friends are graduating from university while I'm over here -- I'm still only halfway through my degree programs (if that). My brother's baby will be brought into this world just months before I return. Friends are going on with their own lives... and I'm doing nothing, nothing! to keep in touch.

I keep telling myself that this is life on hold, but I know that on the other side of the pond, life continues. Just as it does here.

The difference? We're not there.
--Annie

<< // >>