life, sanitized

11 October 2006 @ 15:44
my mood

This morning, I rolled out of my bunk, grabbed my hygiene kit and headed for the nearest shower/latrine trailer. No water in the entire row. The other row of trailers where running dangerously low this morning. As in there was literally a trickle of water to shower with. With luck, they'll have turned the water back on by the time we get released for the day.

It's hard to describe what living here is like without breaking Operations Security or making it sound like I'm complaining. Life here isn't bad, especially when you know that soldiers are dying in other places. The food is good, there's no shortage of things to do off-duty, and just about every enclosed structure is air conditioned. I have daily access to the internet and a phone. It's really not that bad.

And yet... some areas don't have running water in buildings. The two MWR facilities here are strikingly different. Some people live in tents, some people live in open bays, and a very select group live in one or two man rooms. Rank has its privileges, afterall.

It could be worse, much worse. No one is shooting at me, no one is launching mortars at us, and every day I wake up thanking whomever, whatever that I ended up here rather than somewhere else -- water or no water. Just like I wake up every day hoping that those elsewhere are well and safe.

Someone watch out for my extended family. There are two of us out here.
--Annie

<< // >>