stuff about school

07 September 2005 @ 16:52
my mood

There was a drunk guy in my Anatomy lab. A stupid drunk guy. A stupid drunk guy who proceeded to just leech answers from the rest of the group. And when I tried to explain something to him, he just said "yeah, yeah, is tibia number 15?" Ugh. Yeah, I don't do so well with stupid people in class, not to mention drunks. I hope he doesn't show up drunk again. Effer.

In other news, my French really really sucks. Well, I'm understanding just about everything I read (as long as it's written in simple French) and I understand my prof and my classmates when they talk, but when it comes to be my turn to talk -- I can't do it. I can't remember the verbs that I need to use. It's very frustrating. But at least my Portuguese isn't popping up at random times.

I've come to the conclusion that Andre should have been French. Or I should be studying Portuguese. But since I can't change his nationality nor can I just enroll in a Portuguese class at the moment, I'm going to just have to deal.

Whee! I love having three languages bang around up there, and only being able to effectively communicate in one. I need practice, seriously. Any volunteers?


I'm looking at study-abroad programs in France. (For those of you that pay attention or know me, this is a change from Hong Kong. Keep reading.) I'd like to stay within my school's network, but, who knows. The whole building-my-own-major will probably interfere with that.

My French friend Greg wants me to go to a university in Nancy, but I found better ones in Strasbourg and Aix-en-Province and a little town called Pau. The ones in Aix, Strasbourg, and Pau seem to be combination programs -- some classes at an international (American) university and some classes at a nearby French university. All of the ones I've looked at have French for Foreigners (whee!) but I think I will try to pick one where I can load up on French credits.

Okay, so why the change from HK? I've already decided that I might as take French on as a major for a variety of reasons. I have no practical experience with my French -- unlike my Portuguese, where it's been a do-or-be-misunderstood case for awhile now with Andre's family. I want to be bilingual. At least bilingual, since for all I know I might really end up as trilingual. So, I need practical experience and practice.

The courses in HK are in English, which is great if my goal wasn't language acquisition. And I do want to visit Shir, but I don't think I could handle living in HK for that long. So, only a visit to her would probably be better for my sanity and well-being.

But, I don't know. I need to sit down and figure it out. And talk to people here at the university. And practice French. Any and all help is appreciated.

Tchau,
--Annie

<< // >>