gotta love my family

27 August 2005 @ 23:55
my mood

I had Cousin 1, 2, and 3 today. Ai, was that a handful. But worth it.

Cousin 1 is probably the one I have the strongest bond with. I've played with him since he was a baby, and we've turned out to be pretty similiar (or at least a strange mix of my brother and I) so we spend a lot of time talking whenever I get to see him. He'll be turning 7 pretty soon. It slightly scares me that he and I can have conversations about Army stuff and computer stuff and life stuff. Granted, he doesn't understand everything and I can't talk to him like how I would to one of my friends, but the boy gets it.

Cousin 2 is in a weird situation, being the middle child. Sometimes he's a sweetheart, sometimes he's a little devil. I'm constantly reminding myself that it's because there are TWO of them, and one just has to pick on the other. C2 has been doing a lot of the picking lately, at both C1 and C3, so I put a lot of the blame on him for that. I hope he gets better when C4 comes.

Cousin 3 is starting to talk more. And I can actually understand him. We had many little miniconversations today, which made me happy. C3 still rolls his r's. (I thought he would have dropped that habit by now, but he hasn't!) He's a cutie -- I don't remember his brothers dancing and singing as much as he does. C3 was born while I was at training, so I missed his baby days. But I get to see him go through more of the growing up stuff than I did with his brothers, which is exciting.

But, ai... did my uncle have to make all boys? Three little boys -- or even just three little kids -- can be a lot to handle. Especially when you haven't had daily contact with kids.

Today did go okay. I took them out, pumped them full of sugar, put them in the pool, rinsed them off, fed them, took them to Gram's. Only that was more exhausting than I ever thought it would be. I'm glad I didn't plan anything more.

The funny thing about these little guys is sometimes the slip on the "Annie" part and let "Aunt Annie" come out. Only to call me a kidault later. Ah, gotta love my family.

Boa noite,
--Annie

<< // >>