happy birthday to me

06 June 2005 @ 14:38
my mood

Today is my birthday. Here in the States that means I can legally buy alcohol.

It also means that I have been / will be sung to in a few different languages. This is normal, actually. It's only this year that a third language has been added.

Andr� sang the following to me late last night in a tired voice:

Parab�ns a voc�
Nesta data querida
Muitas felicidades
Muitos anos de vida.

And, of course, I will hear the familiar (or not-so-familiar for most of you) tune:

Sto lat, sto lat,
Niech zyje, zyje nam.
Sto lat, sto lat,
Niech zyje, zyje nam,
Jeszcze raz, jeszcze raz, niech zyje, zyje nam,
Niech zyje nam!
Sto lat!

I'm sure the English version will be sung sometime.

Somehow my birthday has become such a strange mix of international traditions. Not that I'm complaining.

Tchauzinho meus queridos amiguinhos,
--Annie

<< // >>