he's just awesome

28 April 2005 @ 23:17
my mood

Andr� continues to amaze me.

A year ago we could barely hold a conversation over the phone. Barely. I had to speak super slowly, use basic vocabulary, and repeat myself several times -- and he still wouldn't understand me. Communication was best through emails and IMs, which were rare because an internet connection in Brazil is super expensive.

Now, he and I can have conversations over the phone that last for several hours. I talk to him at a normal pace, and only occassionally have to reach for either an English-English dictionary or an English-Portuguese dictionary. Also, he can speak a bit of Portuguese that I can actually understand.

All of this without a language school. Without a tutor. Without books. It's been pretty cool.

And quite inspirational.

Boa noite e muitos beijinhos,
--Annie

<< // >>