this is really really hard

11 February 2005 @ 00:18
my mood

Sometimes I look at my classmates and think:

It's Friday night. They're all going to go out to party and get smashed. They'll get to sleep in on Saturday and maybe get around to do their schoolwork on Sunday. And I have to drive 3 hours tonight -- through heavy traffic in two big cities -- only to go to bed once I get to my aunt's house so I can wake up early the next morning for formation. And, my day will be spent sitting around at depressing ceremonies and being thanked by the brass and cursing the Gov's bad hairdo and watching all of these families deal with this. Then, I'll go back to my aunt's house and my little cousins will see me in uniform and start asking questions. I'll have to explain to them what I did today and why people are going away and why I'm not going away. Somehow, between spending time with family and doing Army stuff, I'll find time to finish my schoolwork, and hope I complete everything by Monday morning. And sure enough, Monday after school, I'll be scheduled to work at the store...

This is hard. Really really really hard. It better be worth it in the end.
--Annie

<< // >>