Patriot Day

12 September 2004 @ 17:24
my mood

Last night's gig was strange.

It was September 11, right? Right. So the entire day I kept thinking about where I was the year before, and the year before that, and the year it happened.

I was not thinking about fireworks and fair food and fun.

Yet that was what I was subjected to. Yes, there was a moment of silence and a flyover. Yes, we played the arrangement of Amazing Grace that was meant as a tribute to that day.

But it didn't feel right.

Maybe it was the realization that my planner marked that day as "Patriot Day". Yes, I realize that we need to do something, we need to call it something -- but "Patriot Day"?

I don't think so.

I keep thinking about stores advertising closeout sales on "Patriot Day" somewhere in the distant or not-so-distant future.

Or will this day fade into history like December 7?

I wish I knew.
--Annie

<< // >>